Ethnographical Museum – Musaion
How to reach us – map
Connection: tram 6, 9, 12, 20, station Švandovo divadlo, or bus 176 stop Kobrova
Phone: +420 257 214 806
Tuesday–Sunday: 10 AM–6 PM
Changes of opening hours:
24 December, 2015 – CLOSED
25 December, 2015 – CLOSED
26 December, 2015 – CLOSED
31 December, 2015 – CLOSED
1 January, 2016 – CLOSED
Thank You for Your understanding
Basic: 70 CZK
Reduced: 40 CZK seniors (over 60 years), disabled persons, children 6–15 years old, High schools and University students (student ID card is necessary)
Family: 110 CZK (max. 2 adults, 3 children)
Children under 6 years and ICOM members admission free
School group with pedagogue: 40 CZK/person (minimum 5 persons)
Filming, taking photos (no flash) for noncommercial use - free with valid ticket.
Prepaid and Three-Day Admission:National Museum offers One-year, Half-year and Three-Day Admission >> more information
Overview of Further Services:
- Library and Archive:
Opening time of Library and Archive Study Room:
From 1st February, 2011 is CLOSED until further notice
- Museum shop:
Scientific publications, traditional hand-made works, souvenirs ...
- Coffee shop with reading room: In summer months is working outher garden.
About Ethnographical Museum
Kinsky Folly, located in romantical Kinsky Garden between Prague quarters of Lesser Town and Smíchov, was built between 1827-1831 by architect Heinrich Koch in the Empire style. Since 1901, this unique summerhouse is seat of the ethnographical museum which is documenting traditional folk culture of the Czech lands – Bohemia, Moravia and Silesia.
Newly reconstructed permanent exhibition, which has been nominated to the European Museum of the Year Award in 2007, presents everyday life of the Czech countryside and folklore and festivities of the traditional rural communities in the 18th, 19th and the first half of the 20th century.Stylish café with summer garden as well as museum shop with folk art souvenirs and books are also located in the museum. After visit at the museum, unique wooden church of Saint Archangel Michael from the 17th century, transported to Prague in 1929 from today´s Ukraine, wooden belltower from Wallachia and baroque calvary from Žižkov can be visited in immediate vicinity of the museum. The museum is located in walking distance from Petřín Hill watchtower and funicular as well as the Prague Castle.
The exhibition is managed by the Department of Ethnography of the Historical Museum of the National Museum which also has its seat in Musaion.
Information leaflet about the Ethnographical Museum (ENG, CZ)