Press (1.11.2016)

Top items – From the New World

Symphony no. 9, "From the New World” by Antonín Dvořák

Symphony no. 9, "From the New World”, by Antonín Dvořák, is among the best pieces of symphonic music. The original score can be found in the collections of the National Museum. Antonín Dvořák composed the Symphony "From the New World" in 1893 during his stay in New York, where he was appointed a director of the National Conservatory of Music of America. In this work, he combines typically Czech musical motifs with American influences, primarily Afro-American and Indian music. The symphony was premiered in Carnegie Hall and immediately became very popular. Since then, it has been part of the stable repertory of orchestras around the world. 


>> Full article



Show a listing of articles

Back to Press

Newsletter       Plná verze stránek

© 2005-2011 National Museum       Webové stránky: NETservis s.r.o.       Zřizovatel: Zřizovatel